Counties of Kenya

In the new Constitution of Kenya, the Provincial Administration that comprised the province, district, division, location and the sub-location has been restructured. They were headed by the provincial commissioner, district commissioner, district officer chief and sub-chief respectively. A new structure is being worked out to fit in the new two-level devolution of governance – the national government and the county government. Devolution is provided for in chapter 10 Sections 174 – 200.

However the eight provinces Central, Coast, Eastern, Nairobi, North Eastern, Nyanza, Rift Valley and Western have been replaced by the 47 Kenya counties that will be second level of governance after the national government.

The constitution of Kenya creates 47 county governments. This number is based on the delineation of administrative districts as created under the Provinces and Districts Act of 1992. Namely;


Nairobi still remains as the country's capital city.